Colorful Cities & Villages

Standard

I love colors! In every aspect of life. Every time I visit another country I really enjoy the sight of colorful architecture. That’s why I’ve made a selection of the most colorful cities and villages I could find. Enjoy!

Burano, Italy


© Copyright EMprize

Burano is an Island in the Venetian Lagoon. It actually consists of four small islands which are separated by 10 meters wide canals and linked by bridges.


Source

Kinsale, Ireland


© Copyright Eileen Henderson and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence


© Copyright Sarah Smith and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence

Beautiful colored houses in the town center of Kinsale, located on the south coast of Ireland.

Menton, France


Source

Also known as ‘The pearl of France’, Menton is situated on the French Riviera, along the French-Italian border.

Cinque Terre, Italy

Cinque Terre means ‘The Five Lands’ and consists of five villages (Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore) located on the Italian Riviera and is a UNESCO world heritage site.


Source


Source


Source

Stockholm, Sweden


Source

Stockholm is the beautiful capital city of Sweden. Built on fourteen islands connected by bridges, Stockholm is also sometimes known as ‘the Venice of the North’.

Willemstad, Curacao


Photo by Rodry1 from nl

The historical city center of Willemstad boasts an array of colonial architecture that is influenced by Dutch styles. With its peculiar architecture and beautiful harbor entry, the center has been made a UNESCO world heritage site.

Guanajuato, Mexico


Photo by Bustamente Rosas

Guanajuato is the capital city of the Mexican state Guanajato and is characterized by its steep streets en colorful buildings.


Photo by Tim Leffel

Reykjavik, Iceland


Source

Reykjavik is Iceland’s colorful capital city located on the south west coast.

Longyearbyen, Norway


Photo by Bjørn Christian Tørrissen

Formerly known as Longyear City, Longyearbyen was founded by John Munroe Longyear in 1906, who wanted to house laborers who worked at the coal mines. It is the biggest settlement in Svalbard, Norway and the world’s northernmost city with a population above one thousand.

4 responses »

    • Thanks for your like and the kind words Niki! Ever since I found out that when I was in Italy a couple of years ago I practically drove right by the Cinque Terre without even knowing they were there, I’m even more determined to go back and visit them for real. I guess I have to do even more research than I already do before I travel! 😉

      You have a very interesting blog! Beautiful pictures! And I read you’ve been to Reykjavik. I loved that city! No aurora unfortunately.. but even more reason to go back!

      Thank you for visiting my blog! Cheers!

    • Hi Meg! Thank you for you kind comment!
      I feel the same way, I have visited a couple of these places, but certainly not enough. All those colors! They give you a ‘forever summer’ feeling 🙂 I hope you’ll be able to visit at least a few of above places some time!

      Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

